The four colours – blue, yellow, red and white that is the same four colours on the Malaysia national flag (also known as Jalur Gemilang). This indicate Melaka as an official state in Malaysia. Whereas the yellow crescent and star symbolise the Islamic religion as the official religion in Melaka and as well as the nation.